top of page
  • Black RSS Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Crash Course For Rock Climbing Beginners

Rock climbing is often a recurring topic on many adventurist’s bucket list. Obviously, it was on mine. So, when I was offered the chance to climb the Skagway Mountains in Alaska, I thought Hell, why not?


Other than the obvious snow, ice, and general coldness.


It may also be noteworthy to mention that I hadn't ever climbed before. I didn't know a thing about anything that had to do with rock climbing before this. And it can be a pretty intimidating sport to try out. Here are a few things I wish I would have known/recommend.


First-Time Rock Climbing Gear and Attire Tips

If you are going with a guide, they will likely have the gear. This way you can try it out before investing Bookoo Bucks just to try it out.

  • Wear jeans. Don't worry about buying expensive gear your first go around. But you’ll definitely want to wear something tougher than sweatpants because let’s face it, you’ll be clinging to rough rocks and jagged edges.

  • Don’t wear shorts. You’ll likely bang up your knees, shins, and thighs. Trust me.

  • Take off your rings. You will be gripping rocks and using those finger muscles in whole new ways. So, it is likely your hands will swell as mine do. This can be at the very least uncomfortable. Also, you will high in the air. That's the goal, right? And will likely be jamming whatever needs to be jammed between rocks to keep from falling. In the process, you will likely scratch up your rings or crack a band as I did on my last trek.

  • Wear layers. If you are going climbing somewhere cool or in the spring/fall, it can get cold. However, once you start moving, you'll warm up fast and will likely want to shed some clothing. I wore a t-shirt for the first time. So, your clothes don’t have to be tight/fitted, but rather just not too baggy that they will get tangled up in the rocks.

  • Tie long hair back. You wouldn’t think it would cause much heartache, but I swear those strands find every crack in the rocks and when you’re concentrating on not falling, you don’t pay much attention to those flyways, until you dang near yank them out of your head.

  • Bring water if not provided. Even if you don't climb very high or go very long, you will be out of breath and likely be using muscles you don't do on a daily basis at the office…or school…or whatever

  • Ibuprofen or a pain killer is not a bad idea. I legit watched my dad use his head to wedge himself against the wall (did I mention this was our first time?) And for some reason his noggin hurt afterward... along with a few other body parts.

Rock Climbing The Alaskan Mountains

Welp, would you believe me if I told you I was in jeans and a t-shirt? I’d be skeptical too. However, I was fortunate enough to tag along on an Alaskan Cruise (Princess Cruise Line is what we took, and it was beyond fabulous but that’s another story). The cruise was scheduled for June. Temps ranged between 62-65 degrees Fahrenheit that month. So, we left our winter coats at home – South Dakota.


We booked our excursion through the Klondike Rock Climbing & Rappelling Tour. They were amazing and helped us along every step of the rock climbing (first time) journey. They do offer different levels of difficulty so you can climb the granite walls of the White Pass no matter how skilled.


White Pass Coordinates

59.4532° N, 135.3180° W



The Great Shore Excursion For Couch Potatoes & Athletes Alike!

Like I mentioned, rock climbing was a shore excursion for us. So, we planned on a few hours being off the ship and getting in a great workout. Just completing my freshman year in college, I was still in great shape (on the track team for sprints and pole vault). However, Dad just blew out the candles for his 50th birthday. Also, we were a couple of days into the cruise and binge eating would best describe our eating habits...it was the first time I'd eaten a proper full-course meal.




I guess what I am trying to say is that you don't have to be in great physical shape to try rock climbing. If it’s something you’re going to get into or fall in love with, having a strong core and strength in your legs is highly recommended.


Gearing Up For Rock Climbing

When getting fitted for our harnesses. This takes some getting used to. Think of an oversized padded belt attached to padded garters. You'll step into the garters and pull them up, so they are around your thighs. The belt will be tight around your waist.


The climbing shoes you'll wear will have a rubber bottom and aren't meant to be walked in. So, if you are traveling to the climb sight, make sure you are wearing hiking or sports shoes. Wear rock climbing shoes, quite frankly, sucks unless you are climbing - because then you'll appreciate their design. However, when you are just standing in them, your toes will likely be uncomfortable. They will be curled slightly, which doesn't seem bad right away... give it a few minutes.


Often, you will also be fitted for a helmet. Apparently, dear-old-pops isn't the only one who used their melon to reposition. That and fall rocks/debris from above.


Rock Climbing Terms

  • Belayer – the person at the bottom – aka - the person holding your life in their hands

  • Harness – the superhero belt you wear around your waist and thighs

  • Belay – this is a device that secures your harness to the rope

  • Grigri – a fancy word for the safety mechanism on the belay that uses pressure to stop the rope from slipping while you climb

  • Carabiner – a snap clip that connects all the different climbing gear together (think safety device)

  • Top rope – this is when there is a rope above you at all times. This can either be secured to rocks above you, acting as an anchor

  • Rappel – this is where you are at/near the top of your climb and push off the rocks while using the ropes to lower yourself

  • Crashpad – a mat used often in bouldering (see Types of Rock Climbing) when you climb without ropes

Type of Rock Climbing

  • Lead Climbing – the climber is above the rope (not a beginner level)

  • Sport Climbing – climber uses permanent pre-bolted fixtures set into rocks

  • Traditional (Trad) Climbing – the climber uses cams, nuts, or wedges instead of bolts to climb

  • Multi-Pitch Climbing – using more than one rope to climb the cliff or mountain.

  • Alpine Climbing – think of combining lead climbing and multi-pitch climbing. There is typically for a very tall climb where there is a lead climber and then a second or third climber of who will use multiple ropes to get to the top

  • Scrambling/Free Climbing – climbing without ropes

  • Bouldering – climbing up boulders without ropes (use crashpad)


Rock Climbing 101

Our guide gave us instructions on how to stand/hold/grip the rocks when climbing. What I found most surprising was that you actually want to use your legs to hold and carry your body weight, which makes sense. However, I don’t know how many videos I watched or pictures I looked at and it seems like you should be using your arms to pull yourself up... which you will a little...but your legs are really what carries you up. It makes sense since they are bigger muscle groups and used to support your frame. I just never thought about it that way before.

The ropes were already secured to the top of a boulder (anchored). They dangled from the top in different colors, spanning out in different sections and difficulty levels.

When I stepped up to climb, my belayer looped the rope through my harness and belay. He stood at the bottom and assured me that should I lose my footing the locks would be secured, and the rope would catch me from falling.


So... Hyped-Up-Trust-Falls. Got it.

I recall my heart thumping quickly rapidly while I tried this new extreme sport. My fingers gripped the cold, hard rock. I looked up at the hardscape and thought, "I will conquer you." And with that, I set to go up as far as I dared. My dad's impressed compliments echo in my ears as he was shocked at how fast I was moving up... thanks, Dad. ;)



Granted, we weren't setting new records of fastest or highest climbs, but what an experience. Holding your life in your hands - literally- as you ascended the rocks.


The instructors also showed you how to rappel, which was the most fun part for me. Getting back to the ground by bouncing back from the rock in a vertical-reverse-leap-frog-movement was invigorating.


Climbing Out Of Your Comfort Zone

That and the crisp mountain air filling my lungs. The smell of pine trees was refreshing. The crunch of the needles and pine cones under my shoes... the arm dad wrapped over my shoulder as we both beamed in pride that we succeeded in rock climbing for the first time.


For the life of me, I can't remember if I climbed first or my dad. I am thinking he probably let me show him the ropes. Nevertheless, I recall watching him climb the rocks, out of his comfort zone, just days after turning 50. I was never prouder of him than I was at that moment. He wasn’t letting his age or fears or (fill in the blank) keep him from living. He wasn't doing everything perfectly, but he was having just a hoot living out this experience. I am pretty sure that was when

I consciously decided that I wanted to experience as many things in life as possible. It was around that time that I started jotting down all the things I wanted to experience in life.


Thanks for giving me direction in life, Dad.




 

Date Sarah First Checked off ROCK CLIMBING from her Bucket List: June 2005

 

Zingy!



10 views0 comments
bottom of page