top of page
  • Black RSS Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Phoenix Foodie Guide: 7 Local Favorites & 1 Bust That May Shock You

Da momma hooman lefted to a hot place and she dis someting terruble. Da momma eatted at des yummy places dat she knewed me'd love and only brought me back 1 ting.


- Pux Pepper


 

Traveling to the Phoenix/Scottsdale area and want to know the best places to eat? Not just where the tourist go but where the locals love? Me too! So here are a couple of my favorite places to eat based on categories.


- Sarah Pepper a.k.a.momma hooman


 

Best Mexican Cuisine Restaurant - SWB

If you want some mouth-watering food with great views for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, look no further than SWB! I ate there a few times and it never disappointed me. I loved it. The chefs absolutely knew what they were doing and the favors were powerful.

What I Ate:

Main Course Meal: Steak Quesadilla, Salsa and Sour Cream

Dessert: Sweet Corn & Blood Orange Cake - Roasted Corn and White Chocolate Mousse, Blood Orange Puree

Breakfast: Carnitas Benedict - Tostones - 6 hour roasted pork, poached eggs, smoked tomato hollandaise, and breakfast potatoes



 

Best Unexpected Cuisine - The Canal Club

What was so darling about this place is that they were showing old-timey movies, the staff was absolutely excellent and polite and the food was so unexpected. I haven't had Cuban food too much and wasn't thinking that it would be something I'd eat in the middle of the desert, but I did and it was so dang good. The favors were unexpected without being too... "dangerous?"


What I Ate:

Main Course Meal: Gaucho Steak

SpecialtyDrink: Sin & Santeria - Citrus vodka, strawberry, lemon, jelinek fernet, basil - a crisp citrus cocktail with herbaceous and lush berry tones



 

Best Italian Cuisine - Alto ristorante e bar

This is an authentic-style Italian restaurant. So if you are looking for your fav chicken alfredo, you might want to look elsewhere. They did have this black ink squid on the menu but I chickened out and didn't get it. #regrets


What I ate:

  • Appetizer: Fresh Tomato Brushetta

  • Specialty Drink: Royal Martini

  • Main Course Meal: Agnolotti - Lobster, spinach, bellwether farms ricotta, porcini mushrooms, fennel



 

Top Puppy Friendly Place - Sprinkles Bakery

I'm giving the most puppy friendly place to Sprinkles - this delightful gourmet cupcake bakery. Not only did Candace Nelson create an amazing recipe book which I ordered as while I was still down there (I was pushing my weight limit with my checked luggage as it was) the gal who helped us select our cupcakes had 3 dogs herself. #furbabies #puppylove #puppymom


What I Ate:

  • My Cupcake of Choice? The Vanilla Milk Chocolate Cupcake!

  • Pux's Cupcake? The Pup Cake!

  • What did Dustin Eat? ...his got lost on the flight... I swear!



When My Sprinkles Recipe Book Arrived! Pux wanted to try the Red Velvet Cupcakes...


 

Best Overall Dessert - The Sugar Bowl

This place had a delightful old-timey vibe to it. They kept their 1950's charm and just embraced it. We went there around 9 at night and it was hopping. But we didn't have to wait to get seated, they even had a To Go Checkout if you wanted to snag a bite and leave. We had to wait all of 5 minutes before our ooie-gooie deliciousness arrived.


What I Ate: Main Course Meal: Buster Brownie Sunday



 

Best Bar *Secret Hideout* - UnderTow Speakeasy


I simply have to let you know that this speakeasy is

  • underneath a coffee shop and bar which is inside

  • a renovated car service garage. The UnderTow is technically in the "basement" or bottom part of the garage where the mechanics would work under the cars.

  • The menu is based off a pirates/fairy tale where the

  • Table of contents makes up the menu and every so often

  • a new chapter is released and the drinks are based on the theme of that chapter.


Tip: Make your reservations ahead of time because there is limited seating and TOTALLY worth going here.


What I drank:

  • Specialty Drink: Alchemy of the Dammed - Buchu infused botanist gin, banks 7 year blended rum, falernum, guava, passion fruit, forget, pineapple juice, lime juice

  • Chapter 7 Theme: Dammed, Captured Fairies



 

Best Southern Cuisine *Not Mexican* - Old Tortilla Factory

Old Tortilla Factory If you want Mexican food, this is not your place. Tip! If it's nice enough, definitely eat outside. They have heaters to keep you warm if it cools down. But the patio is surrounded by fountains, lights and 100-year-old pecan trees.


Insider Tip: There is a mural legit across the street if you are wondering where they are nearby.


What I ate:

  • Appetizer: Fresh Tomato Brushetta

  • Specialty Drink: Peach Golden Ale

  • Main Course Meal: Carne de Fuego - Bistro cut steak smothered in homemade chipotle honey sauce. Serviced with sauteed peppers, onions and white rice.




 

Biggest Bust - Diego Pops

Ugh, I HATE to say this was my biggest bust but it truly was. NOT because the food was bad (although I could have eaten double what was given to me - so either the size was small or I was over-hungry. Likely I was over-hungry). The service was great, considering. Honestly, I think if we could have come earlier or during a different day, I might have a completely different takeaway. Honestly, I would try it again. However, we made the mistake of going when it was Mardi Gras so it WAS PACKED. It was NOISY and the hustle and bustle definitely took away from the charm and modern Mexican feel of the place.


Or, I could be completely wrong and it's that busy all of the time. In which case, I wouldn't go there in the evening. Perhaps lunch? Also, I was most excited about this place. Maybe I had built it up so much in my mind?

What I ate:

  • Main Course Meal: Chicken Rice Bowl and Chips



 

Overall, the Phenix/Scottsdale area is packed with unique places to eat. It's a foodie paradise. While these are just my favorite, there are many more places we ate at that I really did LOVE to eat. Have more questions? Comment or message me!


2 views0 comments
bottom of page