top of page
  • Black RSS Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Slippery Pot? Keep Your Planter From Tipping Over With...

Do you have the cutest, little planter? Would you simply die if anything happened to it? Me too! I got this absolutely precious planter from a Girls Trip to the Magnolia Market in Waco, Texas. This was once-in-a-lifetime trip, and that this planter was a keepsake that actually made it back without a ding. It is very precious to me.


Also, gardening in all its forms reminds me of my Mom. So, everything about this planter tugs on my heart-strings.


With the seasons changing and being cooped up in the house, (I am fortunate enough to Work From Home during the COVID-19 pandemic) I find myself looking out my windows and eager to get to my garden. Until I can get my hands in my dirt outside, I'm paying attention to my indoor plants to fill that void.


 

How-To Keep This Planter From Slipping

If you are anything like me, most of my indoor plants don't get enough sun. So, I'll occasionally set them outside to get some much-needed Vitamin D...and I tend to forget them. Well, at least sometimes I forget them. Or Mother Nature decides to crank up the wind and push them over. Occasionally, my planters will tip, crack or break.


My big, outdoor planters all have rocks or bricks or other heavy objects at the bottom, underneath the dirt. But my smaller, indoor planters don't usually get rocked. So, how do I protect my planters from getting pushed around, sliding off end tables, tipping over or (heaven forbid) breaking because they slipped around and took a bump?


Plasti Dip!



Yes, my friends. Plasti Dip. Plasti Dip is amazing. It's like spray paint, but instead of paint, it's a thin rubber coating. It is

  • Peelable

  • Flexible

  • Insulatable

  • Durable

  • Comes in multiple colors

  • and most importantly for this project... Grippable!

Yes, my friends, it provides a non-slip surface, making it ideal for planters that are prone to blowing around in the wind or getting bumped off counter-tops accidentally.

 

Plasti Dip Planters

As I said, this is a super-simple project. All you need is

  1. Your Planter

  2. Plasti Dip

  3. Masking Tape



Step One

Tape around the base of the Planter. Make sure the tape is pressed down flush with the planter surface. I used multiple pieces of tape to get the line around the bottom as even and flush as possible. Since all I had was black Plasti Dip on hand, I didn't want too much of it showing around the sides, but enough to catch the planter should it.... wiggle.


Step Two

Hold the planter upside with your hand inside and spray the bottom/sides of the planter. (Use the Plasti Dip's spraying recommendations!)


You'll be able to turn the planter around easily with your hand inside the planter without leaving any fingerprints or smudging the Plasti Dip accidentally on the planter where you don't want it. Granted you can rub this off, but it's super hard with it's just a thin layer of Plasti Dip. It's more peelable when the layer is thick, but that is unlikely if you smudge it.

Step Three

Let it dry. Keep your planter upside while it dries. After it's dry (about 4 hours). You can put your plant in the planter and be rest assured that your precious planter is now on a non-slip surface. *Touch-up as needed.


I pin a lot of different ideas on Pinterest (love this app - follow me if you want @peppsarah) But I'm always looking built something different, something unexpected... and also quick tricks and tips like this that don't take a lot of time (or skillset) but can save things that are family heirlooms, items special to you or keepsakes from a once-in-a-lifetime trip.

 

Mild!



14 views0 comments
bottom of page