top of page
  • Black RSS Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

What Do Chicken, Apples and Bacon Have In Common? How-To Make the Yummiest Flatbread Ever!

Da momma hooman came bak 2 da house 1 nite, braggin' bout dis yummy pizza. Da momma smelleded mouthwatering. Like Bacon Bitz. Da Chicken. N something else sweet.


I dis not know what kinda pizza dis was butt she smelleded good.


Momma hooman said she would make dis pizza 4 me but she's made dat promise b4. I didn't belifs her until one night I smelled dos yummy smells again...

- Pux Pepper




 

How-To-Make A Healthy-ish Flatbread Using Bacon

Image this for supper: Brown sugar, roasted Pink Lady apples with caramelized onions, topped with mozzarella, chicken, and hickory bacon - all on a crispy flatbread. Just reading a description like this was enough to make my mouth water. But to smell Mackenzie River's version of it coming from the oven was enough to push me over the edge. It wasn't terrible for my "diet" (but probably wasn't amazingly great either). However, every single bite was worth it.


I came home raving about this pizza I had with my girlfriends from Mackenzie River, a classy restaurant in downtown Sioux Falls, SD. Dusty was skeptical to say the least. Pizza with apples? Pizza shouldn't have fruit on it. He was like, "HARD PASS" and ordered some Taco Pizza from our favorite hometown take out, Pizza Ranch.


But then after a few weeks, I made it and straight-up forced him to try it. He could not shut up about how amazing it was. I was FLOORED. My beef-hungry, carnivore-eating husband was gushing over this fruity flatbread.


I was never more pleased with myself (or my cooking abilities) in my life. So without further adieu, here's the recipe I used to be recreate Mackenzie River's Chicken, Bacon, Apple Flatbread.

- Sarah Pepper - a.k.a. Momma Hooman


 

Chicken, Bacon, Apple Flatbread Recipe

What You'll Need


  • 1 sweet white onion

  • 2 TBS butter

  • 1 TBS brown sugar

  • 1 apple (Pink Lady)

  • 8 bacon slices

  • 1 can of chicken

  • 2 cups of mozzarella cheese

  • 2 packets of pre-made pizza dough


 

Caramelize Onions (Cook Time = 10-15 minutes)

  • Thinly slice the sweet onion

  • In a skillet, melt 2 TBS of butter. Add sliced onions. Cook over MEDIUM heat. As a true believer in "Hotter is Faster" this was hard for me. But, these babies have to cook for 10-15 minutes to get perfect.

  • I added a little water about half way through because it was getting a little dry.


Cook Apples (5 minutes)

  • Dice apples into squares. I used my Pampered Chef apple slicer. After slicing the apple, I cut each section into thirds.

  • Toss in diced apples and brown sugar in with the caramelized onions. Cook another 5 minutes. Turn up the heat just enough so that it starts to bubble.


Cook Bacon

  • If you trust yourself to have 2 skillets going on the cook top at once, go ahead and throw on the bacon (in a different skillet). Cook to your liking.

  • Soak up the bacon grease in a paper towel. I hate to do this by I keep telling my heart that it will thank me when I'm older.

  • Chop up the bacon into 1 inch squares.



Add the Toppings to the Flatbread.

I used this pre-made pizza dough. It was really simple. Just follow their instructions. Sometimes you'll want to cook the dough a bit before adding the toppings. I use Pillsbury's Thin Crust Pizza Dough because it's really easy to unroll (it doesn't tear or stick) and is SUPER CRISPY.


After you roll this out on your cookie sheets, add your toppings. You should have enough to make 2 pizzas. Add the drained chicken first, then the bacon and then the caramelized mixture. Top with the cheese.


 

Baking Instructions

  • Follow your pre-made pizza dough cooking instructions.

  • Pillsbury says to bake theirs at 400 degrees for 16-20 minutes.

  • Pux thinks it helps to STARE at the oven when I'm baking. I tell him that it doesn't make time go any faster. He doesn't believe me.

Bon Appétit Your Chicken, Bacon Apple Flatbread!

After baking your pizza should look something like this!


 

Moderate!



8 views0 comments
bottom of page